Fretboard Memorizing?

Kelenpe
Kelenpe
12/07/2020 3:55 pm

Hi,

I am GT student since a year now and went through fundamental 1 and 2 now going thorugh Acoustic 1, so Beginner here.

I have questions about Fretboard memorising.

I tried the Fretboard Trainer in the tools section and see tha the top scores are within 43 sec this month for 20 questions, all time best being 29 sec. Wow!!! congratulation to the winners, some need about 2 sec or less to answer what a fret name is... this brings me to 2 conclusions:

Some are using cheat sheet ;-) (joke)

or

Guitarists memorize the complete fretboard

I understand how the frets name are constructed but really do you guys know the fretboard in memory?

except with open strings and the 12th fret ;-) it takes me ages to deduct a fret name.

How long time did it take you to memorize the fretboard?

Do you need to memorize the fretboard to play well?

Thanks

Yamaha Pacifica 112v and APX600

# 1
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
12/07/2020 5:18 pm
Originally Posted by: KelenpeGuitarists memorize the complete fretboard[/quote]

This is correct conclusion. :)[br][br]

Originally Posted by: Kelenpe

I understand how the frets name are constructed but really do you guys know the fretboard in memory?

[/quote]

Yes.

[quote=Kelenpe]How long time did it take you to memorize the fretboard?

Not very long once I realized it's just one musical alphabet pattern that keeps repeating over & again.

[quote=Kelenpe]Do you need to memorize the fretboard to play well?

Not necessarily. But it can help. Physical technique is one thing & conceptual knowledge is another.