Considering buying a better Amp...

Kasperow
Kasperow
02/01/2013 12:36 pm
Hey everyone.

I'm still quite new to the guitar, but I'm already considering buying a new Amp to replace my 10W Starter-Amp, and after looking around, I've seen someone who sells a 1988 Peavey Special 112 with footswitch for around 200ā‚¬ (all info I've found on it says it is a 160W Amp, which is vastly more than my current Amp). One of my in-laws told me that amplifiers and guitars only get better the older they are, but is this amp really worth the money? I don't know much about the quality-to-price ratio for amps, so that's why I'm asking around for advice. I've got the money to buy it, I just want someone else's opinion on it before I go and buy a bigger amp.

I should probably add that it's a private person selling it and that I'll have to pick it up myself, if that makes a difference.
"Commit yourself to what you love, and things will happen."
- Mika Vandborg, Electric Guitars, "Follow Your Heart"
---
Gear:
Chateau PS-10 Cherry Power-Strat
Epiphone G-400 LTD 1966 Faded Worn Cherry
Epiphone Les Paul 100 Ebony (w/ Oil City Pickups Scrapyard Dog PLUS pickups)
Epiphone ES-345 Cherry
Fender 2014 Standard Stratocaster Sunburst
Martin DX1K Acoustic
Fender Mustang II Amplifier
Jet City Amplification JCA22H Tube-head and JCA12S+ cabinet
Pedals...
# 1
Razbo
Full Access
Razbo
Full Access
02/01/2013 5:17 pm
What kind of stuff do you play and what are your plans?

Also, does the concept of having a tube amp interest you at all?

If you have lots of dough, go for it. If you budget, get something suitable that will last for a while.

I can vouch for the longevity of these 80's era Peavey amps, but older is not always a good thing by itself. Your components can literally dry up over time.

I personally would recommend some kind of 15 watt tube amp. Fender, Vox, Traynor and many others make them.