My Story

bturner0
Full Access
bturner0
Full Access
07/13/2017 3:02 pm

I just signed up to continue my second year at Guitar Tricks. I have always wanted to play guitar and finally decided last July to just do it. I have thoroughly enjoyed it. As a beginner, I have often wondered how my progress compared to other players. I have searched this forum for similar postings to give me something to benchmark my experiences against. I thought that I would post my summary of the past year, not to brag, but just to let others know my struggles. I would hope other new players would also post their stories as well.

When I was 10 years old, my 4th grade teacher taught a guitar class. I still remembered a handful of open chords. I did not stick with the guitar then because I was only interested in playing basketball. However, the desire to play has always been with me. Last year, at age 53, I began to research several on-line guitar sites and settled on Guitar Tricks. I purchased an Epiphone Les Paul and began the Fundamentals 1 course. I really enjoyed Lisa's lessons. She takes to time to explain things very well and does not talk down to you. I progressed fairly well with the lessons. I was not able to practice every day as is recommended. The best I have ever done is pacticing about 4 times a week. Life just gets in the way. In fact, I was out of town for two weeks one time and was not able to practice at all.