Just can't decide on pickups and need help

Old Bunky
Old Bunky
08/25/2009 12:40 am
I have the Epi Standard LP with mahagony body. Looking serious at the DiMarzio's for the PAF Joe in the neck and the the Fred in the bridge. I am no pro but just enjoy heck out of playing rock, hard rock, some metal like Metallica, Enter Sandman stuff. My amp is the Vox AD100VT-XL and my pedal board is the DigiTech RP350. I'm just looking for less mud and more growl and crunch. It has the Gibson 57 and 57 plus in it right now. A very bad choice for my first pickup swap. Secondaly I'm looking at the SD Livewire Dave Mustaine active pickup set. Since I'm still new at this game of looking for that dream combination. Is the active pickup worth the extra money if your ready to spend for new ones anyway? Last big question. The pot game!? My Epi has 500k pots in it. Why do all the active pickups I look at come with 25k pots, some with 100k? It seems silly to me. Appreciate any help you can throw my way. I love all my gear and owning 2-3-4 guitars would be the perfect solution but unafordable.
# 1
RickBlacker
Full Access
RickBlacker
Full Access
08/25/2009 1:19 am
For what it's worth... I'm not a les paul guy. Would like to have one some day, but my guitars are strat based.

As I understand it, most les pauls (and I'm assuming clones) are going to mahogany with a maple top. Mahogany from what I hear seems to be a warm wood. Will probably accent and bring out more lower range frequencies.

If you are having trouble with mud, I'd look for a pup that has less lower frequency output and more mid/upper range frequencies. I'm thinking that might help balance out the frequency band.

I know that I put a Duncan JB into an alder body and it really sounds great. Has nice high frequency response and great mids. But again, thats a strat.

Have you visited the Dimarzio and Seymour Duncan forums?

Oh and welcome to tone chasing. It can get maddening. :D