narrow neck?

jdrayson
jdrayson
04/08/2021 8:43 am

I have been playing as a complete beginner for a few months with some minor success, although I am struggling with my left hand hitting the frets correctly, and it often sounds clunky, particularly with chords. I am using a standard sized acoustic guitar with a 42mm neck, but I have long thin fingers, so was wondering if in fact the neck is too narrow? Sometimes I feel I just cant hit the frets correctly. May just be poor techinque too... Can you get wider necked guitars and is it worth trying one out? I don't know if a wider neck can be better for people with long and/or fat fingers.

Many thanks

Jonny

# 1
snojones
Full Access
snojones
Full Access
04/08/2021 2:51 pm

Since you are just a few months into learning guitar, know that your skill level will continue to grow as long as you practice, practice, practice..... (did I mention Practice?) You might find that your standard guitar ends up fitting in the long run. I have seen some very large people play very small Mandolins with great skill. Or not.

However, you are ready to start answering the magic question... what guitar is the best all round fit for you as an individual. People spend a lifetime answering that question. Diffrent guitars are better suited for diffrent styles of playing. You will be amazed at how many styles of guitar there are, and you will find at least one that really fits, sooner or later.

Go to a guitar shop and try a bunch of guitars, you are really the only person who can answer this question. Go glad hand a bunch of guitars, you will probably enjoy the experience. Take your time, enjoy the ride, ask a lot of questions to the people in the know. Become knowledgable. Surf the interwebz. Listen to the people who inspire you, what ax do they play? Try them all!!