I need help!

PRSplaya
Full Access
PRSplaya
Full Access
09/16/2003 8:15 pm
Ok, here's the deal. I've been playing for around 8 years, but I don't really know the first scale or anything about theory. I might be able to pic out a solo every now and then or make up a simple backing solo, but I have no idea obout what I'm playing. I don't know how it all fits together or how to make it fit together. I don't know of anybody around near to me that could give good guitar lessons, and I don't do so well at trying to understand stuff in books about it, but I'm tired of knowing that I've been playing for almost a decade and don't really know what I'm playing. I've never had lessons, but I can keep up and jam with just about anybody. My question is, what should I do? It's time for me to stop playing around and actually get to where I should and want to be, I jsut don't know how to go about it. Are there any good video's or very, very, very easy to understand books with alot of illustrations that would help me. I'm proud of how far I've come along with no extra help, but it's time to go that extra step. I've realized there's no way I'm going to do it on my own. Any help or advice orinspiring personal experiences will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
[FONT=Palatino Linotype]Tonja Renee's personal instructor[/FONT]

>HERE'S WHERE I AM NOW<
# 1
Ego
Ego
09/16/2003 10:54 pm
I'd say get some lessons

There are good vids out there...
Eric Johnson has a couple that are pretty good

Books: The Praxis System by Howard Roberts is great

Or, a good course would be the old faithful Mel Bay Modern Guitar Method in one big volume

The old Micky Baker books were good

A book that is read by nearly everybody is the Guitar Handbook by Denyer...

I'd suggest the material at my site but it isn't for those with holes in their theory or technique...check it out later

http://kronosonic.com
# 2
PRSplaya
Full Access
PRSplaya
Full Access
09/16/2003 11:07 pm