Notes vs Chords for level 0 beginner

mulham.haffar
Full Access
mulham.haffar
Full Access
01/04/2024 8:07 pm

Hi everyone,

Happy new year!

I'm an absolute beginner, who's starting a bit late (I'm 41 :)). But I wanted to learn to play the guitar for 25 years just never got the chance to. So, I'm gonna give it a serious try and I'm hopeful.

My question is do you recommend that I start with learning chords and not notes ? I'm fascinated about playing lead guitar and learning how to read notes more than strumming. But I see that all the beginners courses only teach strumming and chords.

Sharing your thoughts is highly appreciated.

Mel

edited
# 1
William MG
Full Access
William MG
Full Access
01/04/2024 8:19 pm

Happy new year, 41 is a great time to start.

I would really encourage you to do the Fundamentals for beginners.

Best of luck

edited

This year the diet is definitely gonna stick!

# 2
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
01/04/2024 8:45 pm
#1 Originally Posted by: mulham.haffar

Hi everyone,

Happy new year!

I'm an absolute beginner, who's starting a bit late (I'm 41 :)). But I wanted to learn to play the guitar for 25 years just never got the chance to. So, I'm gonna give it a serious try and I'm hopeful.

My question is do you recommend that I start with learning chords and not notes ? I'm fascinated about playing lead guitar and learning how to read notes more than strumming. But I see that all the beginners courses only teach strumming and chords.

Sharing your thoughts is highly appreciated.

Mel

Since you are an absolute beginner I recommend starting at Guitar Fundamental 1.