Greetings from NZ

MPtotheG
MPtotheG
01/08/2023 1:43 am

Hello everyone!

I'm completely new to guitar and actually making any kind of music for that matter. Got an acoustic guitar for my 40th birthday which was an amazing surprise. After a few beginner YouTube videos which left me with more questions than answers, I saw an ad for this and decided to give it a go. 

Can't remember last time I've had this much fun and got this excited. It's a feeling of pure joy to unhinge and indulge like I'm 20 again. 

Now I've got a business trip overseas and can't get over the long break away from practising. Is diving into theory a good idea while still on 1st beginner course? I'm also watching song tutorials even though I don't understand half the lingo, want to get used to vocabulary. 

Cheers,

M

# 1
PlinkingZombie
Full Access
PlinkingZombie
Full Access
01/08/2023 5:19 am

Welcome aboard.  41 here.  I picked it up again a few months ago.  I made a related post the other day and two things happened: (1) Christopher responded with some good links of his lessons, which I felt helped a lot, but there's still the "but, wait.... I still don't understand" feeling, because I think it's beyond what we can really understand now.  Seeing more math created by the fretboard will help to capture that knowledge. (2) ScubaCPA said that the book No Bull Music Theory For Guitarists really helped and reading the reviewsd seems to support that    

Bottom line you can watch the theory vids and try to think about how the fretboard spots are calculated and write some notes or draw to just help make it click, but having the guitar in hand would be perfect just for the sake of following by finger 

# 2
William MG
Full Access
William MG
Full Access
01/08/2023 3:12 pm

Welcome.

It's great to read of your obvious excitement and wanting to dive in. Dive in with both feet!