Struggling with chord changes

Greg Necastro
Greg Necastro
11/09/2022 4:47 pm

Hi all,

I've been playing for about three months (complete newbie).  I'm learning the chords well with the lessons, but I am struggling with changing chords.  I just can't seem to make them quick enough.  I'm working on Bad Moon Rising (made easy) intro.  I'm okay with the chords, D, A, and G.  But, I cannot make the transitions quick enough.  I get repetitions is the way and I have been practice every day.  I was wondering if there are any other practice methods I could try to help me get through this.  

Love the program, but I'm getting a little frustrated that I can't put things together and start playing songs.

Thanks in advance,

Greg

# 1
William MG
Full Access
William MG
Full Access
11/09/2022 6:03 pm

Hi Greg,

I had a look at this song and while it shows as "2 picks" and is a "made easy" version, the tempo is quite fast at 180 and Caren is really moving. This strumming speed is going to be a challenge. An option is to use the speed buttons to slow the speed down to 50%.

Learning songs is what this is all about but maybe you would do better finding a song in the 80 to 100 bpm range and as your skills improve move up in tempo. I don't want to discourage you from learning the song, but frustration and discouragement are our worst enemies. 

One last thing I would offer is, taking breaks is a good thing. I will often leave a song for a day or two and come back to it. The short break has allowed my brain to wire itself and I find I can make some progress.

Good luck.

This year the diet is definitely gonna stick!

# 2
Greg Necastro
Greg Necastro
11/09/2022 6:51 pm
#2 Originally Posted by: William MG

Hi Greg,

I had a look at this song and while it shows as "2 picks" and is a "made easy" version, the tempo is quite fast at 180 and Caren is really moving. This strumming speed is going to be a challenge. An option is to use the speed buttons to slow the speed down to 50%.