progress.

Just a curiousity :)
# 1
noticingthemistake
Crime Fighter
noticingthemistake
Crime Fighter
01/19/2003 1:37 am
Try different things that you usually don't do when you practice. This may help you get out of your rut, also help with the boredom. If you want speed, get a metronome and practice building your tempo up.
"My whole life is a dark room...ONE BIG DARK ROOM" - a.f.i.
# 2
andy82
andy82
01/19/2003 1:46 am
hehe I've been usiong metromones and scales etc ever since I've started (2 years ago) but I guess I haven't been to faith to the routine. Sigh.

so I've been taking a break from building speed just play songs of interest. Just curious from reading what others posted up on this forum, seems like most can shred and do it well too.

One of techniques i want to do while playing guitar.

Say speaking of playing songs... anyone know any good Jazz/Blues stuff? Fast paced songs usually get me interested, that's why I started playing guitar anyway. I if you know any please do share!
# 3

01/19/2003 5:36 am

I know what you're going through.

I got so sick and tired of playing metallica's song that I didn't progress for some years.

Then I bought some books on lead guitar. Speed mechanics by troy Stetina was a break point for me. Great exercises in there.

After a year of practicing his stuff, I deceided to stop playing scales and other people music and start playing my own stuff. I did tons of riffs I liked and few songs here and there even joined a death metal band. Learn to play with multiple guitar tracks.

I began to develop my own style and sound. about two years ago I started playing more accoustic songs. then a year after that I started fingerpicking. Saw that I wasn't so bad at that and continued.

Now I deceided to work on my bad habits. I inlisted for online lessons with The Jonezter (guitartrick host and guitar war champion) and I'm now working on mistakes I made and stuck with for the past years.