Tabs questions

GuitarGeorgeKnows
GuitarGeorgeKnows
05/15/2021 12:55 am

I have a couple of app subscriptions for UG and Songsterr. It doesn't show what strings to not play, like some tabs I've seen printed. Sometimes there will be an X in the middle of some notes and I figure that means to mute that string. However, if some of these multi-note formations are chords, how do you know what strings not to hit (for example, if you are not supposed to hit the low E or high E, they never seem to be X'd out)? Am I supposed to assume every string that doesn't have a fret number gets played as an open string?

Am I making sense? Or do I need to attempt a drawing with dashes and numbers?

# 1
davidisidson98
davidisidson98
05/15/2021 2:40 am

I also heard on online radio, Internet radio https://radiofrench.fr/ stations have certainly grown in popularity over the years. Some people like to turn on their radio during commercials so as not to miss a thing. This is just one reason why many people are trying to take advantage of this technology. Whatever your reason for wanting to listen to the radio, whether you're trying to relieve the stress of your daily life, boost your self-esteem, or marvel at a particular topic, an internet radio service can found for your benefit on the internet. . You just need to know where to look.

# 2
GuitarGeorgeKnows
GuitarGeorgeKnows
05/15/2021 4:14 am

That is super helpful, thanks!

# 3
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
05/15/2021 3:24 pm
Originally Posted by: GuitarGeorgeKnowsIt doesn't show what strings to not play, like some tabs I've seen printed.[/quote]

You don't play the notes that aren't indicated. But, I think what you are getting at is that the tab or notation doesn't indicate which notes to mute.