Which strings??

joannapoultney
joannapoultney
02/11/2021 10:47 am

Hi, I'm new to the guitar but have got myself a Sigma acoustic 000M18. It came with steel strings ( ex demo so don't know how old they are ).

My question, as a complete beginner and not being familiar with any brand names is, which make would be suitable for me ( fingers are just getting used to playing and still sore ! ) and also a good fit for this particular guitar. Or, does it not matter?? Are there any makes I should avoid?

Loving the lessons with Lisa. Thanks

# 1
JeffS65
JeffS65
02/11/2021 3:31 pm
Originally Posted by: joannapoultney

Hi, I'm new to the guitar but have got myself a Sigma acoustic 000M18. It came with steel strings ( ex demo so don't know how old they are ).

My question, as a complete beginner and not being familiar with any brand names is, which make would be suitable for me ( fingers are just getting used to playing and still sore ! ) and also a good fit for this particular guitar. Or, does it not matter?? Are there any makes I should avoid?

Loving the lessons with Lisa. Thanks

Strings are more like a favorite flavor; everyone has a favorite and it's always different between people. Advice you get on good strings is specific to the player.

With that said, any major brand is going to be a good string. Eventually you will learn what your preference is. Recently I bought Ernie Ball Earthwoods for my acoustic. I haven't put them on because I'll need to re-set up my guitar since I'm changing string guage.

That is a point to make, particularly as a beginner player; string guage: Acoustic guitars tend to come with heavier string guages than do electric guitars. For instance, your Sigma comes with D'Addario EXP16s from Sigma. I love D'Addario strings and have always used them on my electric guitars and my acoustic (the Ernie Ball's I got are just to try something new).