Dying to Live the Dream

pitbull1779
pitbull1779
03/06/2017 2:11 pm

I'm a fairly accomplished pianist and have always dreamed of learning to play guitar. I have great dexterity in both hands, years of training as a musician, and the self-discipline to practice and stick with it through the rough spots, but I am beginning to suspect that the amount of soreness I'm experiencing with even the minimal time playing may be excessive. In my first session, I made it (barely) 10 minutes; after 24 hours rest, I (barely) managed 5 more. It just seems like I have to push unreasonably hard on the strings to get clear tones! The guitar itself was given to my husband by a co-worker whose teenage son got it in some Starter Kit for Christmas and promptly abandoned it a few weeks later. The music store I drove over 3 hours to take it to for evaluation refused to look at since it had not been purchased ther, and promptly began trying to sell one of theirs. I did "try" a couple and they absolutely seemed FAR easier to play, but I was reluctant to proceed, since I had no idea what I was looking for and I disliked their pushy attitude. Now that I've had the opportunity to research it a little more, it seems pretty obvious that I need a better quality instrument if I seriously expect to progress. Now I have TOO MUCH information! I need to add that I also have pretty small hands; the operating room where I am a first assistant has to special order small surgical gloves specifically for me, although I'm not otherwise petite: 5'7", 125 lbs. Am I just making excuses for myself or is it reasonable to purchase a better quality instrument? What would some good options in the $1500 or less range be for me? How much practice/playing time per session is realistic for a beginner before their fingers give out? Thanks.

# 1
IstvanPetrie
IstvanPetrie
03/06/2017 2:51 pm

Hi,