axl_rose - Please help!!

volume
volume
07/18/2002 8:17 pm
hi- i`m new here but i`m hoping this place will be of great help to my struggling guitar playing. i, like your self (and i`m sure countless others) am a big slash fan. he's the reason i started playing guitar.

Anyway, lately i`ve been trying to understand the theory behind lead improvisation. being financially challenged (poor) the best i could do was buy a book. which is ok but not great. the book basically teaches the 12 bar blues and the various fingering positions. this is fine but what I’m confused about is this.

in teaching the blues the accompanying CD has blues progression chords playing (G G7 C7 G D7 C7 G D7) and so on. entering with lead on the blues scale at any fingering position and at any point in the chord progression seems to be fine. i think.

what i`m hoping you could tell me is will the blues scale work for only this particular chord sequence?

for example, lets take the chord progression G5 D5 C5 (as in knockin' on heavens door). playing any of the blues scale here seems out of place. maybe i should only be playing certain scale positions on certain chords?

i do hope i have made at least some sense to you and you know what i`m getting at. not knowing that many guitarists I’m at a bit of a loss for answers. this is really bugging me though as i`m determined to improve my lead skills. i see from reading your previous threads you seem to have a good grasp of this theory and alos an appreciation for good lead guitar!

ok, well thanx a lot for taking the time to read this and hope to speak soon.

bye!

# 1
AndyP
AndyP
07/19/2002 1:05 am