hey hey hey!

Incidents Happen
Incidents Happen
07/09/2002 12:59 am
wow! I haven't been on here since early June, when i just got my New Fender '65 Deluxe Reverb Combo! from looking at the posts in the open discussion, looks like the big 'lull' in important posts is still there. I haven't had too much time to go on here lately, been saving money and working at mcdonalds still, this time saving up for a new electric guitar. Im 14, maybe 14 1/2 years old if that, made $1200 this year at Mickey D's.

As an improvisational guitar player, i really have improved. I can play solo's out of any key right now...i can't play a country solo yet (haven't tried any yet), but i have a nice deal of jazzy/bluesy/funky/grateful dead-y sounding things. In other words, its more balanced. I've been playing for 14 months (1 year, 2 months, going on 1 year 3 months), and i'd say the first 7 months i spent playing rhythm guitar, last 7 playing lead guitar, and my lead guitar work is better than my rhythm guitar work right now.

My equipment i use right now is
my amp:
Fender '65 Deluxe Reverb Combo Reissue
Effects:
Dunlop Crybaby Wah-Wah
Q-Tron + Envelope Filter (very nice)
Guitars:
Guild DC-1 Acoustic/Electric
Squire Strat (it was my beginner one, getting an American Strat in August).

Im searching for the Jerry Garcia type sound, still, but im closer to it than i used to be. Got any ideas that will make it even closer? Im not trying to duplicate his sound, i just like it and want something similar but yet original.
would you recommend a Roland Synth? I know Jerry had one, a GK-7, but im not sure that they make that anymore.
# 1
BlackBox
BlackBox
07/09/2002 2:16 am
Damn, 1200? not bad.. I prolly make around 2400 at a local bowling alley though :):)
Rock on.
# 2
kimbob
kimbob
07/09/2002 3:55 am
I'm impressed. Aproximately %12 of you life has been spent playing guitar.
If you want to play country leads a pentatonic major scale works nicely.