Let's get interesting.

JohnEve
JohnEve
07/04/2002 5:25 pm
Ok then all you gear nutters!

I'm fairly new to the world of electronics, and still kiss my acoustic guitar goodnight. She's the sweetest sounding thing I know, but I'm gradually beginning to see the attraction of my new (second hand) squire strat. Can't knock it 'til I've tried it.

My question to you is...
Whats the point of pedals? Ok this is fairly broad, but come on - give me some incentive to part this hard cash. What can they give me that fiddling about with the tone knobs and equalisers can't.

And btw, what does 'tone' actually mean when associated with a knob? Can anyone give me a fairly simple explaination of what it's altering.

With expectation..

JohnEVE
# 1
dot-dot-dot
dot-dot-dot
07/04/2002 6:09 pm
A tone knob is typically either a low-boost/pass, high-boost/pass or band boost/pass (for bass, treble and mid respectively). They're basically like EQ bands, but they're a lot wider.

As for the point of using FX... it's just to get more sounds out. Adding a subtle hint of a modulation effect (phaser, chorus, flanger, tremolo etc) can just add a little depth to the sound and lift it out of the mix.

Not using effects isn't bad, and using effects isn't necessarily good. It's down to how you want to sound.
Squeeze the day!

The Monkey FX Page - effect guides and handbuilt pedals.
# 2
Lordathestrings
Gear Guru
Lordathestrings
Gear Guru
07/05/2002 2:17 am
Originally posted by dot-dot-dot
A tone knob is typically either a low-boost/pass, high-boost/pass or band boost/pass (for bass, treble and mid respectively). They're basically like EQ bands, but they're a lot wider...
This is true of active tone controls, but the knobs on your guitar are usually passive controls that simply reduce the high-frequency content of the output.
Lordathestrings
Guitar Tricks Moderator

www.GuitarTricks.com - Home of Online Guitar Lessons
# 3
mc9mm
Guitar Tricks Instructor
mc9mm
Guitar Tricks Instructor
07/05/2002 2:25 am