New Member…Old Player

guitarwiz1
guitarwiz1
10/27/2014 4:32 pm
I’ve been faking playing guitar for 30+ years now. I started out with a beat-up six string that I bought in a second hand store… I didn’t know how to play it, but I knew for sure… That one guitar felt good in my hands, so I started rockin’… with the Hal Leonard Guitar Method: Book 1. I worked my way through the book and I had fun playing Aura Lee and Twinkle Twinkle Little star, but I still wasn’t rockin’.

I was off and on for a few years until I bought my first electric guitar. It was a series 10 p.o.s and the amp I bought had a six inch speaker and was a bigger p.o.s than the guitar. I still didn’t know how to play it but by this time I had discovered tablature. I started buying all the Guitar For Practicing Musician and Guitar World magazines I could get my hands on. (Pink Floyds Wish You Were Here was the first “real” song I learned.)

I learned a few songs but I was still off and on for quite a few years…until…My brother finally gave me a 1972 Gibson S.G guitar that he had hanging on his wall. It was all beat up, and it was missing the bridge and the tail piece. I fixed it up the best I could with my limited knowledge of fixing up guitars, but I did alright making it playable.

By this time (which was the late 80’s - early 90’s) I had upgraded my amp to a pawn shop 8” speaker Charvel. With the S.G and Guitar Magazine…(which I was going through like they were Playboys…meaning I only bought them for the tabs.)…I was a guitar playing fool. I learned a bunch of my favorite songs that I had always wanted to learn.

I’ve always thought I did a pretty good job with the songs I knew. I would go to friends / families houses and play along with all the songs I knew. (mostly AC /DC some Zeppelin and of course Iron Man.) The more beer they drank the better I sounded. The more beer I drank the better I “thought” I sounded…(good times.)