Singing really required for ear training?

maggior
maggior
02/07/2014 5:35 pm
I've been reading up on ear training since it seems like something I should really start doing now that I'm getting the notes on the fretboard down.

For every musician out there seems to be a different approach :-(. Most methods emphasize the importance of learing to sing the notes and the intervals. Is this really necessary? I very much don't like to sing...probably because I don't like my voice. I have no plans on singing to accompany my guitar playing either :-).

Also, is practicing scale patterns a component and/or form of ear training? Since I've been practicing the major and pentatonic scales for many years, I can tell immediately if I've hit a bad note in it. Hand me a minor scale or one of the modes, and it's just a string of notes to me...

I'm trying to fit a plan together for myself with this and I'm not sure exactly where to begin...and where exactly I'm trying to go. I'm told that developing one's ear is key to well rounded and melodic improvisation.

Thanks!
# 1
Slipin Lizard
Slipin Lizard
02/07/2014 7:54 pm
Originally Posted by: maggior Most methods emphasize the importance of learing to sing the notes and the intervals. Is this really necessary? [/QUOTE]

I think so. You need to know, from the note that you're playing, what the next note is you're going for. Otherwise you're just randomly picking notes from the scale, staying within the pattern, and hoping that what you pick sounds "good". Remember in that info I sent you, I suggested you play the one pattern over the Bm Blues jam, really focusing on the those two extra notes so you could get used to how they sound, and where they might fit?