7th chords and modes

Bingoismyname-o
Bingoismyname-o
04/26/2002 7:48 am
Hi. After 6 years of playing guitar, I'm just beginning to learn theory. Recently I learned about the chords that are created when you play up the major scale, and that the order they come in is something like Major, Minor, Minor, Major, Major, Minor, Diminished. And these chords are what determine the key of the song, as well as the modes that sound alright to use with it. So, here's my question: how do 7th chords fit in? I mean, before I knew about this stuff, if I were playing blues in Am, I would just solo in Am, even when the E7 comes around. But in terms of guitar theory, how does that E7 work out?

# 1
chris mood
High Bandwidth
chris mood
High Bandwidth
04/26/2002 5:32 pm
ok....I take it your referring to Dominant 7th chords right?
Dominant 7th chords are created off of the 5th degree of the major scale, so in the key of C you would have G7.

Now when you move into a minor tonality and you have a Dominant chord appearring off the 5th scale degree, as in the case of E7 vrs A-, you just entered the realm of Harmonic Minor.
# 2
Bardsley
Bardsley
04/29/2002 2:29 am