20 years playing casual guitar--I don't know where to start

bvarbel
bvarbel
03/13/2012 11:54 pm
I self taught myself to play guitar 20 years ago. I never played and a band, and I never jammed with anyone really. My interest has been mostly to learn songs I like and kind of fake it while singing.

I took 10 lessons in NYC several years ago. That actually pushed me a little further because I started learning some finger picking and more advanced rhythm styles.

I play acoustic, but this year picked up a little Fender Strat beginner electric kit.
This seemed to shake things up and both my electric and accoustic playing are improving...I'm having more fun and learning more songs.

My question is this: I have some skills--more than how to use a pick or strum rhythms, play many common chords, but I'm not very sophisticated. I really don't care about music theory. I just want to jam, have a good time, and get better with techniques that help me learn the songs I love.

Where do I start--how to hold a pick or guitar so that I don't miss a thing, or can I start somewhere that is a little more organically connected to what I want to do and the experience I want to get out of this.

I feel overwhelmed, its my first day. The layout is pretty, but too many trees of information. Also what about a study plan. I'm looking at putting in an hour or two a day. How do I pick my material, how long do I stay on it--in NYC I got new assignments each week and pressed forward while still working on old stuff. At points it got overwhelming, but it pushed me to get better faster than if I just lollygagged on the same material till it was perfected. As the new, more complicated material was introduced, the old lessons felt easier. What is the school of thought for this on this site?
# 1
string_thumper856
string_thumper856
03/14/2012 1:45 am
Hey bvarbel