My fingers hurt!

damseldancer
damseldancer
12/22/2011 3:28 am
Now I know you're all thinking that this is just a case of beginner tenderness and toughing it out ... but I'm not so sure.

I've been playing for nearly 3 months and practice an hour a day, sometimes more. I have pads on my fingers that have built up as they are supposed to do. However, over the last week my third finger has become ultra sensitive ... it feels as though a pin is being stabbed into it when I play. I didn't practice yesterday. I'm wondering if there is something else up - like a damaged nerve or something?

I'm playing a 6 string steel acoustic...

Anyone else suffer anything like this?

Sadie
# 1
Slipin Lizard
Slipin Lizard
12/22/2011 7:59 am
Yep, I've had that happen.. take some time off... it will probably just clear up on its own. Sometimes you need to give your fingers a break and give your pads time to thicken up. Also, if you're not doing so already, try to space out your practice time a bit more... four times @15min should work well. Third finger is often a common culprit as it just seems to do more work than the others. Just give it a break and you'll likely be fine.
# 2
Meth3rlence
Meth3rlence
12/22/2011 12:08 pm
Yup, just take a few days off. I recommend that occasionally even if you're not in pain. A few days without playing seems to help a lot, and somehow it feels like you play better when you come back to it - dunno why that is.
# 3
Matteo Miller
Matteo Miller
12/22/2011 12:42 pm
Haha your fingers will hurt more when you play acoustic guitar, rather than electric. In any case, it's natural for fingers to hurt after 3 months! Your fingers will still hurt even after a year of playing :)

The trick is to not press down very hard on the strings - just BARELY enough for them to sound. Pressing harder won't change the volume, unless you are trying to perform some kind of technique, like a bend or slide or whatever

Here's how you test to make sure this happens correctly: