wanna buy a new classical guitar..any advice?

sherif_shaaban
sherif_shaaban
03/21/2002 11:59 pm
Hi guys...I've been playing classical guitar since 2 years. I have an old bad-looking guitar, but I want to buy a new good quality one. Could you please tell me what to take care of while choosing the new guitar, and about the serious defects I should be aware of? Thanks :)
Sherif Shaaban (Dr_Frankensteinā„¢)
# 1

03/22/2002 6:34 pm
Go Spanish. They know how to make classical guitars. You can find some nice Spanish made ones that aren't going to require you to take out a second mortgate. I have one made by a company named Raimundo, and its very nice. I got it for about 400, though it was on sale so I paid something like $350.

What to look for... hmm... avoid the tendancy to get a classical guitar with very low action. Remember, low action is an enemy of the classical guitarist! If you're into flamenco and all that cool rasguedo (?) stuff then you might think about getting a protective clear covering over the body near the sound whole so that your nails don't damage it. Just like any guitar, pay attention to the kind of wood that goes into it, the quality of the tuning machines, etc.

As for serious defects, well I wouldn't by any guitar with any serious defects!
# 2
James8831
James8831
03/22/2002 7:40 pm
get a lower end one by a good maker. Electric guitars have more adjustments on them (string height,intonation,etc) so it's easier to get a slightly duff cheap electric to play better whereas with a classical or spanish guitar it's difficult to alter the string height or intonation - and budget makers can get it wrong in the first place.

Check out some Yamahas as they are usually excellent.

Personally, if i wanted a "spanish" guitar - i'd go for an ordinary steel strung acoustic with a single cutaway, so you can reach the higher frets, and replace the strings with classical ones.

My reasons for saying this are that