A psycho in the house!

sherif_shaaban
sherif_shaaban
02/24/2002 11:41 pm
Hi guys...this is a problem that has been bugging me for weeks. Ever since I started learning the guitar and knowing about scales, chords and other aspects of musical theory, I started to get easily bored from music! I listen to the song and say: "what's new about this one? it's a vi - V, IV, III progression!", and so you can easily imagine the hell my friends are living in because of my 'analytical' look to whatever I hear. When I know the chords of the songs I really love, suddenly they turn to be boring. I read once that knowing more about what lies behind the music you hear helps you to even enjoy it more, but this doesn't seem to be the case here :-) Am I making sense here? Has anyone experienced this 'syndrome' before? Is there a 'cure'?
Thanks...

Sherif Shaaban (Dr_Frankenstein™)
# 1
stglas1
stglas1
02/25/2002 2:39 am
My experience was very similar to yours, although my total grasp of theory was never that impressive. My ear was always very good, and once I knew enough theory and had enough time playing, the stuff I was listening to became "too easy"... i.e. all I had to do to play most of it was listen to it a couple of times (if even more than once) and I could play it (soloing was a different matter!)

I think this was primarily because almost all the stuff I was listening to was rock (at that time a lot of it metal).. which is by nature a pretty simple form of music. that may be why the emphasis got so heavy for a while on the soloing aspect of playing... it allowed a talented guitar player to showcase his ability within a framework that, by nature was somewhat limited.

Also, I have spoken with many musicians that eventually "graduated" to other styles of music/play (such as jazz) that allowed them to try different progressions, textures etc... that opened up new avenues of expression.