Hovering fingers in position

singeri
Full Access
singeri
Full Access
01/13/2011 1:35 pm
Hi all -

I'm just getting started in playing. Been practicing about 45min/day since Thanksgiving.

I'm having trouble getting my pinky to hover above a string when my ring finger is fretting a note. I know I should learn to have the pinky hover so it's in position to fret the next note, but every time I press down with my ring finger, my pinky pulls back far away from the fret board.

Any suggestions are appreciated,
Irv
# 1
Razbo
Full Access
Razbo
Full Access
01/13/2011 1:39 pm
Let me know if you get that resolved. My pinky tends to get where I need it ok, but it hangs out wherever it wants between usage. Sometimes I see it actually come out from behind the neck (no kidding) and I'm sure I could be more efficient if I could control that.
...so ever since then, I always hang on to the buckle.
# 2
singeri
Full Access
singeri
Full Access
01/13/2011 4:01 pm
Originally Posted by: RazboLet me know if you get that resolved.

Np, but if you subscribe to the thread, you can keep track of any responses...that's how I knew you posted here.
# 3
Razbo
Full Access
Razbo
Full Access
01/13/2011 5:48 pm
I was being facaetious. ;) I love it when I get to use that word! :D
...so ever since then, I always hang on to the buckle.
# 4
hunter1801
hunter1801
01/13/2011 11:49 pm
The pinky is one of those fingers that you just want to snap off after you realize how annoying it can be. It's like it has a mind of its own when it's not in use. The way your hand is "set up" is the reason you can't control your pinky the way you want it to. Your tendons pull on some of your other fingers when you are setting one specific finger in motion. Watch guitarists on YouTube and you'll notice their pinkies all act differently. Some have their pinky straight out all the time, others have it curled in, or some other way.