A Little help, please....

samata
samata
08/12/2010 6:34 am
Hello all,

I am brand new to guitar....(a whole WEEK already, but it's going well so far! lol )

I'm a sax player, but I'm really liking guitar so far. I like that the guitar is linear and follows the staff. The sax doesn't, and it's kinda nice to know that if I'm looking for G#....it's going to be right next to G :)

I have been having a bit of trouble, though, that hopefully someone can help me correct...I'm finding that I'm resonating the strings and making sound as I lift my left hand fingers off to change position. Is this something that I'm doing wrong? Or, is there something I need to do that I'm not (like muting)? Or, is this just because my fingers aren't calloused yet, and the string is digging in and sticking? Any help/suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Scott
Quickly advancing from inept to semi-ept
# 1
compart1
compart1
08/12/2010 12:40 pm
Hi Scott,
Welcome to GT..
My first thought would be hand position.. fretting the string at a slight angle and when you lift your finger off the string heads back to its position.. Like most beginners you are looking to see that your fingers are headed to the right fret.. causing you to roll the guitar lower side away from your body. This forces your hand out of position.

Try raising the neck (approimately 45 degrees).. This will let your wrist wrap around the neck a little easier.. This may help until you get your finger tips broke in, your joints flexible and memory in place..
Also check back in fundamentals 1.. A picture is worth a thousand words..

http://www.guitartricks.com/lesson.php?input=13958&c_id=1&ch_id=2

Hope this help..
Good Luck
Gordon
# 2
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
08/12/2010 12:44 pm
Hey & welcome!