How do you learn fast?

McLarry
McLarry
08/03/2010 6:44 am
Any tips on how to learn as many songs as possible in the least amount of time?

Or does it just come down to grinding hour after hour.

any input on this is appreciated.

I've been working for a couple months on the solo to Smoke on the water. Then I want to learn, living after midnight, breaking the law, ace of spades, you've got another thing coming, crimson and clover and carry on wayward song.

At the rate I'm going, this will take me two years. Or does it speed up as you get better?

I don't know. For now, the only solution I can see, is to grind hour after hour. But if that's not a recipe for 'boring' what is?

What makes great guitarists?

Is that what Jimmy Hendricks, Eric Clapton, Jimmy Page and Eddie Van Halen did. "Grind away." I somehow don't think so. But maybe I'm wrong.

Any other ideas on how to shorten the road to guitar mastery?

- McLarry
# 1
Jarsew
Jarsew
08/03/2010 3:42 pm
Read my recent post, I sort of dive into this subject a little:

http://www.guitartricks.com/forum/showthread.php?t=32299

Here is another link to Van Halens wiki page. It says he would literally lock himself in his room and play for hours.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eddie_Van_Halen

When you practice, your gains are exponentially. Meaning if you keep on it, and practice a few hours a day, you can learn all those songs in a lot less time than 2 years. Although probably not have the solos perfected. Or maybe you can if you practice enough!

So I would say yes, it pretty much is grinding down the hours. For the famous musicians that do pull out the 8-10 hours a day, I bet its something they love doing. I bet some cant help but to play and practice for that long. They need to play guitar just as much as they need to sleep.

I think on John Mayers wiki page, I read that his parents actually took him to a psychiatrist on two occasions because they thought something was wrong with him for playing the guitar so much.