Using a bow on a guitar...a REAL bow.

imalrdynum
imalrdynum
02/09/2002 6:32 am
I was just curious if anybody in here has ever used a bow with their guitar, a`la Jimmy Page/Sigur Ros. I have a cello bow that I use, but my technique, well, my technique sucks! I know the bow is not made for steel strings, so I was just curious if anybody else had any luck. Peace.
[email]bkrogers717@msn.com[/email]
# 1
Raskolnikov
Guitar Tricks Moderator
Raskolnikov
Guitar Tricks Moderator
02/09/2002 6:36 am
Violin strings are often steel, but they're flat wound. I've had very little experience with a bow, so I can't help you much there.
Raskolnikov
Guitar Tricks Moderator

Careful what you wish for friend
I've been to Hell and now I'm back again

www.GuitarTricks.com - Home of Online Guitar Lessons
# 2
imalrdynum
imalrdynum
02/09/2002 6:42 am
I was not aware that violins use steel strings, you learn something everyday! Maybe there's hope for me after all.
# 3
lalimacefolle
lalimacefolle
02/09/2002 8:06 am
Page only hammered the bow on the strings, since the violin ones are coated with a special stuff that makes them sticky (on the part that they are bowed) You won't be able to have the same vibration that is used on the violin...
# 4
pstring
Big as Elvis, Baby
pstring
Big as Elvis, Baby
02/09/2002 8:31 am
You can bow the strings on a guitar, just have have to use alot of rosin on the hair, I tried it a few times just goofing around, at times I've thought a hammer or a gun would be much better than a bow
# 5
Raskolnikov
Guitar Tricks Moderator
Raskolnikov
Guitar Tricks Moderator
02/09/2002 5:34 pm
Violin strings are usually gut except for the E string (the highest in pitch). Most violin players I know HATE the way steel strings sound.
Raskolnikov
Guitar Tricks Moderator

Careful what you wish for friend
I've been to Hell and now I'm back again

www.GuitarTricks.com - Home of Online Guitar Lessons
# 6
educatedfilm
educatedfilm
02/09/2002 8:11 pm