Tuning with Harmonics

Passey01
Full Access
Passey01
Full Access
02/07/2010 1:54 am
I know there is a lesson that Chris has for "Tuning With The Guitar Tricks Reference Tuner" but I have seen a lot of people tune using Harmonics. Have you guys thought about adding a lesson on how to do that? I am just learning how to tune that way vs. reference tuning and it has been a struggle to figure it out. A lesson may help others. Just a thought...
# 1
jedft
jedft
02/07/2010 7:11 pm
Tuning with harmonics has always seemed faster and more accurate, to me anyway, but you still have to start with at least one reference tuned string. After that, though it's pretty simple as long as you already know how to play harmonics. 5th fret harmonic to 7th fret harmonic from E to A string. Same with A to D and D to G. Then to tune the B do an open B string and the 7th fret harmonic on the low E. For high E use the 5th fret harmonic on the low E (6th string) to open high E (1st string).
# 2
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
02/08/2010 2:53 am
Originally Posted by: Passey01I know there is a lesson that Chris has for "Tuning With The Guitar Tricks Reference Tuner" but I have seen a lot of people tune using Harmonics. Have you guys thought about adding a lesson on how to do that?

Thanks for the suggestion. It's a good idea.

It is a more advanced skill to be sure. That is why it is not in the Fundamentals courses. Tuning with a tuner is much more reliable and objectively measureable. Especially for beginners!

Hope this helps.
Christopher Schlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor

Christopher Schlegel Lesson Directory
# 3
Douglas Showalter
Guitar Tricks Instructor
Douglas Showalter
Guitar Tricks Instructor
02/15/2010 5:58 pm