Some encouragement for beginners

lilifield
lilifield
08/16/2006 1:16 am
I'm a beginner too -- going on my second month learning how to fingerpick my first song. At first, it was hard (and too slow) trying to remember where the chords were, reaching for them correctly, and having to constantly refer to the tab arrangement. It took me about 45 minutes just to get the song out -- and it sounded terrible and a lot of mistakes and buzzes. Now, after 2 months I'm playing it so much faster and find that my fingers already know where to go next, without me having to look and check if it's right. I can now get the song out in 4 minutes. Progress seemed so slow, at times I felt I would never be any better than I was. It's like.... one day you wake up and it has all come together behind your back because of faithful practice, even if it's only 20 minutes a day. You find yourself playing faster with more confidence and less mistakes. I'm so happy and just wanted to share that with anyone else who might be struggling a little bit. Hang in there, it will pay off.
# 1
bunmiadefisayo
bunmiadefisayo
08/16/2006 1:30 pm
If i can add something to this...

Please learn your music theory!!! Its so important to learn at least the basic diatonic theory and, believe me, it'll lessen the amount of frustration you have to go through when learning the guitar.

What i noticed, esp here in college, is that many people who want to learn guitar just cram a bunch of chords and scales an have absolutely no idea why they are playing what they are playing. They fell into the "i want to be good overnight" trap. On the other hand if you learnt your theory, took time to study scale and chord construction and basic harmony, you'll be playing much better than someone who just crams chord-shapes.