Acoustic Guitar Strings

lilifield
lilifield
07/12/2006 10:16 pm
I just bought my first guitar couple days ago and someone said that the factory strings should be replaced with good ones. I tried to buy some expensive strings at eBay but backed out at the last minute because there were so many "sizes" and dynamics involved that I didn't know which ones to buy? I have an Ibanez acoustic. I don't think that I need the top of the line because I am brand new to all this but I would like a recommendation for maybe the next best to the top? Many thanks in advance.
# 1
iiholly
hmm
iiholly
hmm
07/12/2006 11:14 pm
Elixir is a good brand.

# 2
Mark Pav
Mark Pav
07/13/2006 1:42 am
Martin strings are good. I recommend phosphor bronze ones. You'll probably just want light gauge strings, too.
# 3
gogogo
gogogo
07/13/2006 1:43 am
I play ernie ball power slinkys. Strings are really about personal preference, as well as what style your going to be playing. After a couple of yrs of playin on 11 gauges anything less feels like dental floss hahaha. Most strings are pretty cheap so this allows you to experiment w/ different types w/o breaking the bank. This is about the only piece of equipment you'll be able to do this w/...so take advantage!!!Oh also since your just starting out lighter gauge strings will help your fingertips out. Take it from me treating open cuts on your fingers doesn't feel good! Once you build up some strength and "tuff skin" or "chops" as i like to call it you can bump to a higher gauge or stay where u are remember it's totally up to you ;)
# 4
lilifield
lilifield
07/13/2006 3:11 am
THANK YOU! This is all really good to know.
# 5
Fenderalltheway
Fenderalltheway
07/13/2006 3:27 am
I used J D'addario, or however you spell it for my acoustic and my strat.Great strings!
"When you want to rock hard children, lean of F#."
# 6
aschleman
aschleman
07/13/2006 7:15 pm