To sit or Stand???

drivingburnt
drivingburnt
11/02/2005 5:17 am
Most of my practicing has been done on a tall kinda "bar stool" that I usually sit on and I've found that when I go to stand I feel very awkward and things do not flow as smoothly. Should I hike the guitar up higher when I stand to help or am I just plain doing it wrong in the "upright position" Be gentle. I'm still a rookie :o
[FONT=Comic Sans MS]Got To Love Those Shredding Grannies[/FONT]
# 1
Kevin Taylor
Guitar Tricks Instructor
Kevin Taylor
Guitar Tricks Instructor
11/02/2005 6:17 am
I've always done all my practicing sitting down. But when you're going to play live somewhere, you have to rehearse standing up or you'll screw up big time.
Before live gigs, you have to get used to lights flashing on and off, girls looking at you and the other guys moving around on stage... a couple of beers in you and smoke bombs going off, plus you have to come up with some basic moves or all you'll hear after your set is 'well, you weren't doing very much'
Everything has to exagerated X10 or you look boring.
# 2
drivingburnt
drivingburnt
11/02/2005 2:39 pm
Thanks for the info. Maybe I should practice half standing and half sitting. :p
# 3
Rat Man
Rat Man
11/04/2005 7:49 pm
Hi, Driving Burnt;
I am one who sits when he plays. I agree with Schmange that you'll certainly look better moving, dancing, giving body English, what ever. If ou can do this without effecting your playing you'd be much better off. The other's in my band stand and play, but I sit because I play a lot better that way. I'm the best guitarist in my group and I like to really concentrate on what I'm doing. I agree, I probably look like a turd on stage, but that's just the price I have to pay for playing at my best.

Rat Man
# 4
rockonn91
rockonn91
11/04/2005 8:09 pm
as above said, when performing, its important to be used to standing.