Tips?

Kirk Hammett is God
Kirk Hammett is God
05/19/2001 12:48 am
I was wondering if anyone had any tips for playing live. I'm pretty good when I play for a small group of people (about 40), but I don't think I could play well for a large amount of people. And as you can tell, I'm relatively new in the guitar world (almost a year, but I'm pretty damn good), and I haven't had the chance to play at a concert or anything. I will, soon though.

All in good time...
MYK
# 1
Joseph
Joseph
05/19/2001 4:57 am
Playing live definitely has a way of improving your playing much more dramatically than practicing in your bed room or garage. The thing is that we never really feel 100 percent comfortable around others, because its hard to satisfy a large crowd, and maintain your creativity. So once you're up on stage, you just have to try your best to stick to your game plan, and play at your best fom your heart (and it definitely helps to move around a lot, its not good to stay in one position staring intently into one persons eyes.) But although you're sticking to the game plan, you have to be able to work well with changes, because sometimes the other musicians you're working with just might try and be spontaneious. The experience of playing in front of a large crowd and the many variables of a live performance are something that must be mastered, especially for a solist who has to improvise on the spot.

So try to to have fun, and like you said, being that you're relatively new to the instrument, theres so much more to learn. The endless learning possiblities of the guitar and the overall experience is what keeps us coming back for more...

-Joseph

[Edited by Joseph on 05-29-2001 at 09:40 PM]
www.ragmagazine.com
"Swoop and soar like the blues angels."
# 2
Martin Spaans
Martin Spaans
05/28/2001 1:39 pm
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Joseph
(and it definitely helps to move around a lot, its not good to stay in one position staring intently into one persons eyes.)