Are my tubes going or is it my amp?

Polera
Guitar Hurricane
Polera
Guitar Hurricane
02/24/2005 5:54 am
Well i had previous stated this in a post earlier...but i cant find it so ill restat it again since i have new info... i get a wispy sound from my amp...(kinda like when u just turn on a gas fireplace or light a gas stove) that comes through. Also now the sound has dropped in and out as i play. The amp also sounds muddier then when i first got it... It been about 2 years i ve owned this amp but i never really push it that hard so could it be the tubes or the amp? Ive had too return this amp like 3 times so im weiry but i beleive its probably a tube problem. How do i know for sure? How do i isolate the tube thats the problem? How do i change it etc... so i can get rid of that noise. I dont wanna bring it to a tech to replace the tube cuz im a broke student. Also apparently my amp is auto biasing...because it converts currents.

Thanks.
WWSD? What would stevie do?
# 1
Lordathestrings
Gear Guru
Lordathestrings
Gear Guru
02/24/2005 6:45 am
Originally Posted by: Polera... Also apparently my amp is auto biasing...because it converts currents...
[font=trebuchet ms]Huh??

I was right with ya until that last bit. You might want to clarify ??

Preamp tubes often last a very long time. Twenty years is not unusual. The power tubes will wear out more quickly, but one year is [u]much[/u] too soon unless you play very often, very hard, and for a long time each session. My 1977 Ampeg VT-40 applies really nasty voltages, but it's still running very strong on the original Magnavox tubes.

Do the math - that's nearly 30 years! :D

Your problem could be bad tube(s) or it could be something else. You need a [u]good[/u] tech to find the cause quickly, without wasting his time (and [u]your[/u] money) with guesswork. An amp that has been back to the shop 3 times in two years is either a factory Quality Control nightmare, or it's being worked on by an incompetent tech. Or both.