Stratocaster Study

Rob_H
Rob_H
01/24/2005 2:38 pm
As an A-level design student, my course requires that I carry out a study of an existing product. I have chosen to study the design and manufacture of the Fender Stratocaster guitar.

I would be grateful if anyone could answer the questionnaire below.

1. Do you consider the Fender Stratocaster as a classic guitar design? (Yes/No)

2. If you answered yes to question 1, why do you consider the Fender Stratocaster as a classic design?

3. Do you own/play a Fender Stratocaster? (Yes/No)

4. What model Stratocaster do you own/play?

5. What made you decide to purchase a Fender Stratocaster, Fenders reputation, seeing other guitarists play Stratocasters, because you consider the Stratocaster as a classic guitar, etc?

6. What comments would you like to make about its, playability (how easy and comfortable is it to play), looks/finish (what do you think of its overall look and the finish applied), reliability (if you think it is reliable or have you noticed any design/manufacture faults), set-up (did its factory set-up satisfy your needs)?

Thank you for your time.
# 1
Dr_simon
Guitar Tricks Instructor
Dr_simon
Guitar Tricks Instructor
01/24/2005 3:03 pm
Ok Dude,

First up you should consider that there is huge variation in strats.
The way they play, the way they sound may come down to intricacies such as the individual bits of wood used, how uniform the winding of the pickups was (i.e. hotter Pus in some relative to other especially true of the older hand wound models) which makes them subtly different.

The other thing to consider is an individuals playing style. A guitar that is perfect and loved / cherished by player A may be despised by player B. the strats I have are all very different from each other and different again from my LPs PRS and Jackson.

Do I consider the Strat to be a "Classic' design and why?
Yes as it was the first in its class after LPs and Telecasters which are different beasts entirely.