Tablature vs Cord

cjefferyjames
cjefferyjames
04/22/2021 4:56 pm

I am just starting out still on Guitar Fundamentals 1. I am hoping someone can explain this to me. When a I print the notation for "Roll Like the Water" the first page is the cords so I am trying to match this page to the tabs and I am confused. On the first page I'll call the cord page on the first line "Otta state plate must be running late" C is noted twice above "Otta" and above "running" which I thought meant 8 strums - 4 times for each C. When I look at the tablature it looks like I should only strum 3 times for that line. Can someone help me out?

# 1
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
04/23/2021 12:02 am

Hey & welcome to GT!

Originally Posted by: cjefferyjamesOn the first page I'll call the cord page on the first line "Otta state plate must be running late" C is noted twice above "Otta" and above "running" which I thought meant 8 strums - 4 times for each C. When I look at the tablature it looks like I should only strum 3 times for that line.

When in doubt always refer to the notation & tablature. That will show you exactly what you are supposed to play. The lyric & chord sheet is kind of a short hand version. So it can be helpful to have to remind you of what to play once you already know.

The reason there is a C over "running" is that is the start of a new measure of music. See the C over all the words that start a new measure: "Outta", "running", "driving", "back", etc.

Conversely in traditionally music notation there is no need to restate the same chord in a new measure until you start a new chord or a new line. So, the C is stated over measure 1, then not again until a new line starts (measure 1, 5, 8, etc.).

But here's the important point: look at the notation & tablature. That will show you unequivocally what notes or chords you are supposed to play.

Hope that helps!

Christopher Schlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor