How to use the metronome?

fatma sen
fatma sen
07/07/2020 9:56 pm

Hi All,

I am a beginner and I've no idea about how to use the metronome when practicing the songs. I've used it only to practice chord changes so far and I think it helps a lot. I want to use it to practice the songs as well. I've searched on the web for some instructions but I could not find a good one.

I am using the metronome on the Tools section on Guitar Tricks. Currently I am trying to play the song "Darling Destination" which is taught by Lisa McCormick. I assume that "Allegro" should be 140 and "Beats per measure" 2 on metronom for this song since the tempo of the song is 140 and Lisa strums 2 times for each chord. I tried to use with this numbers but it did not match exactly with the song.

I would appreciate if anyone can help me to figure out how to use it.

Thanks!

# 1
William MG
Full Access
William MG
Full Access
07/08/2020 11:53 am

Hi and welcome

This song is at a fairly quick pace but is really quite simple once you get the hang of playing the bass note and then finishing the chord in time. Rather than get into complications with a metronome, setting a constant tempo of 140 and striking the appropriate string(s) in time will be simpler.

Most of the time I use the metronome on Google - its just a solid time, no accents etc.

Good luck.

This year the diet is definitely gonna stick!

# 2
john of MT
Full Access
john of MT
Full Access
07/08/2020 5:11 pm