Pick is slipping through my fingers when strumming

jlew523
Full Access
jlew523
Full Access
08/13/2019 1:28 pm

Hey all,

I have been teaching myself guitar for about 7 months now through GT, and recently I am having trouble holding the pick between my fingers when I strum. It is very frustrating because I can only strum a chord for a bar or two and then the pick slips. Is this normal for beginners? I have so much trouble switching chords and strumming when playing the easy version of Simple Man. I mean it's supposed to be easy, right?

Plese help!

# 1
Guitar Tricks Admin
Full Access
Guitar Tricks Admin
Full Access
08/13/2019 6:39 pm

Hi there,

It sounds like you may holding the pick too lightly. Holding a pick is something you shouldn't think too much about, just hold it enough so that it doesn't slip from your fingers when you strum.

Also, don't get yourself down if you're struggling. The simple version songs are still challenging for new guitar players. It sounds like you've only played for about 7 months, so you're still pretty early on! It takes time to get a good grasp of the foundations of guitar playing, so be patient and keep practicing.

If you haven't already, I suggest jumping into Guitar Fundamentals 1 or 2 to really build that foundation.

Check it out here: https://www.guitartricks.com/beginner.php

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please contact us.
# 2
jlew523
Full Access
jlew523
Full Access
08/13/2019 9:10 pm

Thanks for the advice and encouragement.

# 3
casper27292
casper27292
08/13/2019 10:25 pm