Power Chords

liz.the.bo
liz.the.bo
07/27/2019 1:30 pm

Hi,

I am a very new guitar player (4 weeks) currently working my way through guitar fundamentals 2, i have not had any issues with making the normal chords so far. but i find those power chords almost impossible to get into position for, my fingers won't stretch that far, my wrist hurts and once i am in position on one chord there is no way i am moving to another one any time soon! They also sound dreadful because i am playing with awful tone or my first finger is sneaking across into the neighbouring fret. I don't think there is any issue with my hands, i'm a surgeon, so pretty dextrous normally! Lisa makes it look so easy, has anyone else experienced this? Does it get better with practice? i'm dreading Barre chords already.

Liz

# 1
BeachBill
BeachBill
07/27/2019 1:39 pm

Yes, it does get easier with practice. Just don't overdo something if it causes pain - take that in little steps. I am old (started getting serious about playing at age 69) - with joints and muscles that show my age - but I am having fun and seeing progress all the time. Bar chords caused my fingers to cramp up after one song but now I can do several without a problem.

# 2
snojones
Full Access
snojones
Full Access
07/27/2019 2:42 pm

Maybe a smaller guitar could help.

I found that practicing the chord form, when I didn't have a guitar in hand, was helpful. I worked at first conceptulaly picturing the chord in my mind while I was doing other things, like watching tv, listening to the radio, or any time I had the inclination. Then I worked to get my fingers to grab those shapes in the air. Just concentrating on forming my fingers into chord shapes. Lastly I started playing them on the fretboard.