Metronome

sizanbandhan
Full Access
sizanbandhan
Full Access
06/15/2019 3:54 am

So I've been using the metronome to focus on chord changes and playing scales. How do I use the metronome to learn a certain song? lets say I know the song is 145 bmp. Take this tune for example : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NW2lQV6z05M . How does one use a metronome to learn that tune? how would I break up a song and learn it with a metronome?

# 1
William MG
Full Access
William MG
Full Access
06/16/2019 2:34 am

Hi. First I have to say I am a novice, so take this for what its worth.

I plugged the url into a loop and just started messing with a D scale. Seemed to fit to my ears. The piece, which is beautiful btw, seems expressive to my ears. So what I am saying is that when I played over it, I stayed within D and kind of felt my way along, meaning I didn't stick to a rigid bpm.

Hope this helps.

This year the diet is definitely gonna stick!

# 2
sizanbandhan
Full Access
sizanbandhan
Full Access
06/16/2019 3:55 am

My main question is when should I use a metronome? For example, its hard to use a metronome on tab music due to no rhythm... What purpose does a metronome serve?

# 3
Simon Keyes
Simon Keyes
06/16/2019 4:44 am

helps me out when i want to practice my chord changes and strimming patterns if i find that i'm struggling to keep up with Lisa's pace in the song practices.

by using the metronome, i can start off slow and graxdually build up pace and accuracy.

i've found it to be a fundemental part of my practice.

i use this :

https://www.imusic-school.com/en/tools/online-metronome/

# 4
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
06/16/2019 3:36 pm
Originally Posted by: sizanbandhanSo I've been using the metronome to focus on chord changes and playing scales. How do I use the metronome to learn a certain song? lets say I know the song is 145 bmp.