Newbie Questions

jonathansimmons
jonathansimmons
11/21/2020 5:32 pm

I am a newbie to GT but an intermediate player (I have a decent understanding of music theory, though know there is always more to learn; I can do Travis picking and play melody with chords, etc.). I'd love some recommendations for how to go about using the site. So far I have worked through several songs and really like the instructional approach (I am a former teacher and feel that the way these songs are taught is wonderful!). I have done some of the core learning module and "in the style of..." lessons. I'm having trouble finding lessons that specifically target what I'm wanting to learn more of, which is how to improvise fills around chords. I could certainly continue with songs that will do some of this, but wonder if there is a specific set of lessons that will help me really be able to improvise underneath/around chord. Thoughts and suggestions greatly appreciated :) Jonathan

# 1
ddiddler
Full Access
ddiddler
Full Access
11/22/2020 9:55 am

click on the channel tab. Lots of individual lessons on there.

You could click on each instructor and they list their tutorials.

Or just put a specific search in and see what comes up..

# 2
William MG
Full Access
William MG
Full Access
11/22/2020 12:09 pm

Hi Jonathan

The search tool brought up some suggestions when I typed in "fills", but I think the most valuable resource we have is Christopher Schelgel. I would suggest posting a question in his forum.

Good luck.

This year the diet is definitely gonna stick!

# 3
faith83
Full Access
faith83
Full Access
11/22/2020 1:53 pm

I think it's hard to go wrong to just pick a course and step through the whole thing, including the stuff you feel like you already know. I say "feel like" because I've seen many posts here from people who did that and were surprised to learn new things even though they felt like they already knew the course material. I had the same experience.