Hey from New England! Finally went full leftie.

canaan.morse
Full Access
canaan.morse
Full Access
07/01/2020 3:07 pm

Hey, community,

I'm a quarantine learner, just like many of you, I'm sure. I'm a former choral and opera singer whose left-handedness always frustrated early attempts to learn side-oriented instruments - violin, guitar, etc. When I started playing around with my father's right-handed '75 Gibson Jumbo (oh, what a gorgeous guitar it was - I had no idea), he told me what other teachers told me: "It's fine, just play right-handed and you'll have a faster fretting hand." I wasn't Hendrix, and it just never felt right.

COVID hit, I thought about my other family members who are decent pickers (several of us), and I decided it was finally time to learn like I wanted to learn. I found a 1979 Alvarez Yairi DY50 leftie acoustic and got the GT discount. The frustrations are real, and my progress is slow, but I can strum some simple songs. I love fingerstyle, blues, celtic, and American folk music, and I'd like to be able to play to my kids if I'm ever lucky enough to have them.

Anyway, it's wonderful to meet you all, and I wish you persistence in your practice.

# 1
mjgodin
mjgodin
07/01/2020 4:03 pm

Welcome aboard. There's a few of us New Englanders around. NH here. [br][br]

Moe

# 2
moosehockey18
moosehockey18
07/01/2020 10:37 pm
Originally Posted by: mjgodin

Welcome aboard. There's a few of us New Englanders around. NH here. [br][br]

Moe

Hey Moe,

I live in NH as well. Near Plymouth. How about you ?

Jeff

# 3
mjgodin
mjgodin
07/01/2020 10:39 pm

Hey Jeff I'm in hooksett.

# 4
DavesGuitarJourney
DavesGuitarJourney
07/02/2020 3:08 am

Hi Canaan, welcome![br][br]

I'm down the road from Jeff and Moe, in Rhode Island. Got us a growing number of New Englanders here for sure.

It takes as long as it takes unless you quit - then it takes forever and you will never get there.

# 5
DavesGuitarJourney
DavesGuitarJourney
07/02/2020 3:13 am