Gibson Les Paul Menace & Line 6 Spider II 112

metaljunkie
metaljunkie
07/03/2006 3:44 pm
I just bought a Gibson Les Paul Menace and a Line 6 Spider II 112.

What do you guys think?

I'm not a pro player. I stopped playing when about 4 years ago and i'm about to start again. I think i did a good buy with the guitar, but i'm still not convinced about the amp. I mean, that sh*t sure is a good buy for everything it has, but every review i read about it is so different that it's hard to get a good idea. Does anyone think i made the best choice considereing that i like to play metal and hard rock and didn't want to spend more than 250 (300 at the most)?

You guys think i should have bought a Vox or a Marshall amp? I could have got a Marshall amp for something around 250, but it had a 30w output, that is what discouraged me. I want something loud and powerful, but then again i don't have a band or play gigs at all.

Anyone have a good advice about this? i bought the amp at guitar center, so i can return it or exchange it at any time.

Also, does anyone have a good recommendation for a instrucional video? i heard the Paul Gilbert one was pretty good.
# 1
suicidalmoose
Full Access
suicidalmoose
Full Access
07/03/2006 4:03 pm
first of all NOT A MARSHALL - they make fantastic high range amps ... but the MG series is flawed, it's like if ferrari were selling their cheapest car for 30k, u'd think that cause it's ferrari it'd be better then the toyota's mid range 30k car ...

Line 6 spider, heard a lot of bad things about them, but i think some people just have high standards and expect miracles, after all it's a cheap amp, has heaps of features, so it's bound to be a bit flawed.

Personally I would have picked a roland cube over a spider but it might have cost a bit more. cubes are loud as F**k though.