Feb. '07 GT interview -- hunter60

earthman buck
earthman buck
01/12/2007 5:03 am
Hunter60 has been a member of our GT lives for but a short time. In that short time, he has worked his way into our hearts with his wit, kindness, and intelligence. Ladies and gentlefolk, I give you.....hunter60.

You are different from many GT members in the fact that you started playing guitar somewhat later in your life. How long have you been playing now (and if you're okay with mentioning it, how old are you?)?

I've been playing now for about 18 months now. I'm 46 now and I really don't mind mentioning it. I mind hearing it! How can someone so cool be so old? :)

So, after over 40 years of life, what got you interested in playing guitar all of a sudden?

Well, I wouldn't say that my interest was sudden so much as just a question of deciding "Hey, I've always wanted to try this, why not?" It actually came about this way: when my grandmother passed away a few years ago, she left each of her grandchildren $100. I thought rather than spend it on something that would be gone in a short time, I would do something that would always remind me of her. One of the things that my gram and I always talked about and enjoyed together was music. She was a Big Band fan as well as jazz and blues and 'boogie woogie' as she called it. So since I always wanted to learn to play, I took that money and bought my old Washburn and that started me down the path to learning to play.

How have you improved since you first started?

It's funny but I like to think that I have improved in all areas. When I first started, forming a D Major seemed impossible to me. My hands cramped, my fingertips hurt and five minutes with the guitar left me confused and frustrated. But hey, I can play a few songs now and catch myself spending hours just picking around the fretboard and making something that sort of sounds like, well, music!

How often do you practice, and for how long?