C chord

Keith Altazin
Keith Altazin
06/06/2019 3:26 pm

Hi, I'm a newbie when it comes to the guitar. I bought an acoustic guitar about two months ago and have been working at it ever since. The one problem that I have run into is getting the C chord correct consistently. No matter how I work on it my ring finger mutes the D string. Any suggestions?

# 1
William MG
Full Access
William MG
Full Access
06/06/2019 4:41 pm

Hi Keith

I am a relative newbie myself. You will likely hear responses echoing appreciation for your struggle while at the same time advising you to be patient and to keep working at it. Wrist position plays a part, finger position etc. Our bodies seem to have a way of adapting over time. If you can find a way to make a clean chord, no matter how slowly you have to do it, that will begin to train your body on what it needs to do to make the chord.

Good luck.

ps, this is such a normal query that I thought that since I have no problem making a fool of myself, I should offer up a video of me practicing. It’s painful! But luckily, with time in and regular practice, things do seem to improve.

This year the diet is definitely gonna stick!

# 2
manXcat
manXcat
06/06/2019 7:56 pm

What William MG said about practise and time, but as a general tip try to observe and analyse for yourself what is occurring with your playing, and do it with every fretting/fingering issue you encounter in future.

Specifically in the case of open C. Here's what I've discovered along the way on my journey so far.

From the beginning, personally I've always found open C an easy chord, but observed these idiosyncrasies specific and general addressing things which have facilitated its playing and optimised the consistency of the tone of mine -and other chords, over time.