Becoming A Successful Guitar Teacher?

MatthewDelano
MatthewDelano
05/25/2013 3:28 am
I'm looking to become a Guitar Teacher and need information on how to become a successful one. I have zero students and only taught total beginner guitar to family members for two months.
# 1
Slipin Lizard
Slipin Lizard
05/25/2013 3:55 pm
Are you asking how to make money at it, or how to do it properly?
# 2
MatthewDelano
MatthewDelano
05/25/2013 4:48 pm
Originally Posted by: Slipin LizardAre you asking how to make money at it, or how to do it properly?

Both.

I'd don't know where I should start in the business and teaching aspects of it.
# 3
Slipin Lizard
Slipin Lizard
05/25/2013 9:54 pm
I can't help you with the "how to make money" aspect... other than stating the obvious things like:

-do a great job (& hope your rep builds up your list of students)
-advertise every where you can (craigslist, carry business cards, post flyers etc).

Making money is the chief complaint for most guitar instructors and it can be quite challenging to make a living from it.

For doing it properly... while I haven't taught guitar, I have done a lot of teaching in other subjects, so here's some pointers I'd offer:

-make sure you know the material you are going to teach down pat. Have this material ready to go before the student arrives. If you need to give them a hand-out or scale chart, have it ready before the lesson, don't write out scales during the lesson, you're wasting their valuable time.

-have a neat, clean, private & orderly environment for the lesson. Make sure it is free from distractions such as your phone going off during the lesson.

-have gear ready to go... if you need a couple of practice amps, have them ready... along with spare patch chords in case one goes out during a lesson. If you're just teaching acoustic, then no problem, but still have things like spare strings, and a tuner handy.

-have a metronome (most tuners combine them) and use it.