Finger Picking

jrsnbk
Full Access
jrsnbk
Full Access
09/17/2020 6:05 pm

Hi everyone, I've Been using Guitar Tricks for about nine months now, completed the basic levels 1 and 2 and have now branched off into some of the advanced lessons. My question has to do with finger picking. The lessons from Anders and Lisa are both very good. But they differ from one another in that Anders tends to teach more of the PIMA..thumb and three finger technique. While Lisa teaches a double thumb PIM teachnique. Is this more a matter of personal preference? Or; down the road will it have been more helpful to focus on one of these techniques over the other?

Thanks in advance for any advice or thoughts.

Enjoy!

Jim

# 1
mjgodin
mjgodin
09/18/2020 11:33 am

I'm no expert, but have taken both courses and I think it's just a matter of personal style and preference. You'll see similarities as you move forward in both techniques. There are many styles and variations of fingerpicking, but the one thing they all have in common is getting you to use your thumb as base note first. Then Index and Middle and in some cases the Ring finger get assigned to various high strings.

I completed Lisa's program and enjoyed it a little more because she incorporates nice little songs into the lessons that I enjoy playing. She starts you off using a basic four step pattern. Then slowly adds other variations and elements to it. Anders uses a duel inside /outside plucking technique for the base notes, but the rest is similiar to Lisa's so they both get you where you wanna be it's just a different path getting there. Of course there are a many more patterns out there, but once you learn the basic concepts, which both instructors will give you, then it's pretty easy to learn other patterns.