The old Blues Cliche

Joseph
Joseph
01/14/2001 2:52 am
Do you believe the old cliche that you have to have lived a hard life in order to sing or play the blues efficiently?

As a guitarist, I just can't help relying on the blues, whenever I get the urge to write a guitar solo (unselfconsciously), it always comes out sounding very bluesly), I guess because for me it just sounds real.

I mean to a certain extent its really hard to say that every great blues singer has lived everything he/she sings bout. I feel that there are alot of sensitive and emotional musicians who havent necessarily been through the war, but still have the capacity to feel things, (all in all it could be the smallest incident, but everything effects people differently.[/b]

-Joseph, :).

www.ragmagazine.com
"Swoop and soar like the blues angels."
# 1
Elmo45
Elmo45
01/14/2001 2:59 am
Since I was 19 I've lived with women all my life! Now I'm 36 with no nagging-psycho anti-guitar chick messing with me!
he he

P.S. If there's any girls on this site, I was KINDA being fecetious.
Peace.

# 2
redeye
redeye
01/14/2001 8:15 am
Hi,

I agree with you that blues can come from different emotions from different people. I dont think ive ever heard a happy blues song (kind of a contradiction in terms), so the lirycs usually deppict unhappy times or events.

It was once believed that sneazing was a way of expelling the devil from the soul (hence the usual reply god bless you), and i think that similarly blues music is a way of expressing and therefore expelling unhappy demons from bad times past.

i remember hearing words to a blues song about a man losing his job, then his lover leaves him, then on top of that his dog leaves him. There cant be a person out there who hasnt experienced something like this, or worse.

So, in my eyes everyone has a blues demon needing to be exorcised