Recording with Ableton Lite 11

stevesteakley
Full Access
stevesteakley
Full Access
03/20/2023 5:40 pm

This is my first time posting to the Recording section of the Forum.

I have been on GT for three years, after about two years I decided I wanted to be able to record my tunes to share with family and friends.

I chose to buy a Focusrite Scarlate Solo since I just wanted the most inexpensive audio interface with just two inputs. The Focusrite came with a Free versio of Ableton Lite 11 Software (DAW) which was more than enough for my needs. Learning to hookup the audio interface was easy. Learning to use Ableton Lite took about three weeks of playing and experimenting, several youtube how to videos, but now I have learned enough to go beyound my basic needs. I use a microphone in front of my amp rather than connect directly to the Focusrite AI because the sound is more authentic, there have been a couple of times I connected directly to the interface to get a more electronic sound but generally that is not my quest.  After about a year I spent $100 to upgrade to the next level of Ableton 11 software to get access to a larger library of Audio effects. 

So my investment so far included

Microphone $100 cable $12

Mic Stand $25

Focusrite Scarlate Solo $90 

Headphones $40

Ableton upgrade $100

With this setup I can record, edit, add up to 8 tracks, add backing tracks, audio effects etc, save recorded files in WAV and MP3.

And so much more that I have not attempted yet.