Hello from Spring Grove, Illinois

r1bryant
Full Access
r1bryant
Full Access
01/17/2023 5:06 pm

Hi all!

I am new to Guitar Tricks as of yesterday. I have wanted to play the guitar for years, but two things got in my way: 1) lack of belief that I can learn something musical that looks so complicated, and 2) Failures from past attempts to learn that I didn't give the necessary commitment. So I come here hoping this time is different. I still struggle with the first block, even after completing the first three lessons out here today. The instructor makes it look so effortless, and I feel like Elaine dancing in Seinfeld. 

I don't know how the forums are used, but I figured I'd at least say hi and document the blocks to success I am aware of from my past efforts. Perhaps reading this someday I'll see that I have overcome them both and can call myself a guitar player. :-)

Ron

# 1
JeffS65
JeffS65
01/19/2023 8:42 pm

1) Until a couple of years ago, I lived in Huntley IL. Not exactly next door but in the 'neighborhood'. I do miss the IL area but I really lile my GA taxes!

2) Complicated...The good news, when learning the guitar, you will always be learning with guitar. The better news is; you don't need to learn it all now. I've been teaching my wife and she felt the same until I broke it down a little. The Guitar Tricks program helps with that a lot by walking you slowly in to playing. I told my wife that if you know the 'Cowboy' (open) chords and the pentatonic scale, you can play 75% of most songs on the radio. I would not quote my actual percentage though. The point being is that it seems overwhelming until you start making the small, first steps. If uyou start with bebop jazz, that's complicated but I assume you're not trying to tackle to tough stuff first. The meat and potatos of playing are not that scary.