New Member, Never picked up a Guitar, 47 and not afraid!

dynamicsocialm
dynamicsocialm
11/13/2022 7:56 am

Hi there everyone, I'm 47 years old, and I have never done formal music in my life before; I was a classically trained ballet dancer (once upon a time) so music is kin even though I have no idea what those dots on the sheet mean (yet). 

I have always wanted to learn to play a musical instrument; I like the challenge, the technical and academic aspects, and creative beauty of it. 

I'm not afraid of learning something new; I'm not afraid of making a ton of mistakes to get to a place where I can make pretty sounds with this instrument. 

I bought a second-hand simple classical guitar from the pawn shop, and managed to tune it to sound reasonable; then I did the first free lesson here and you know what? I didn't suck. I managed to get a pretty decent sound out. I'm so pleased!

Thank you; see you on the boards.... 

# 1
snojones
Full Access
snojones
Full Access
11/13/2022 3:58 pm

Welcome.  I expect your ballet background will be of use when it comes to the importance of practice and not loosing your inertia.  After all guitar is a physical skill, just like ballet.  Learning guitar is not a sprint, it is a life long, distance race.  Patience is the key.  I suspect that was also the case in learning ballet.  So you are starting off on a good footing.

I can't help but wonder if you had a profesional lutier check the insturment.  There are many small ajustments that make a guitar perform as it should.  If you have not had a lutier look at these adjustments, it could be useful to do so.  A bad set up can make your playing more physically difficult, and it can  also make it imposible to play in tune.  If your guitar is not properly set up, it can hamper your progress.  Kind of like trying to win an Indy car race in a badly tuned vehicle.